A Strange and Beautiful Flower – Art and Poetry

 

Your words are cold water

on the embers of hope in my heart.

They extinguish the heat

of my love for you.

I welcome this cooling now,

and bathe my face in the rising steam

knowing you cannot fulfill my dreams

and it’s better if the last of hope dies.

Better if the heat leaves the embers of my heart

so the charred remains may decompose

creating fecund soil for new growth

of a strange and beautiful flower

the seeds of which lie deep below.

As the embers cool and turn to rich dust

I see the clear green sprout,

the new growth of this esoteric bloom.

Strong and unique,

an exotic multi-colored sunflower

primeval and forward-moving.

Green tendrils reaching out from a colorful head

towards Love, in all of its forms.

Rooted to withstand the storms of emotional attachment

Growing full and beautiful

under the all encompassing heat of divine love.

© Jill Joy

4 thoughts on “A Strange and Beautiful Flower – Art and Poetry

  1. Pingback: I think this is the last one « Jill Joy – Art That Transcends

Leave a Reply

