Black Square #art

Cheers to you! I hope you are enjoying this day. It’s absolutely beautiful here in San Diego and I’m feeling blessed to live here. This is a recently completed piece – Black Square. It’s a little baby piece, 10×10″, completed, in a sense, as an afterthought with some leftover paint I had from a larger canvas. The more I looked at it though, the more I liked it. (read on….)

Jill Joy - Black Square - oil on canvas - 10x10 - 2013

Jill Joy – Black Square – oil on canvas – 10×10″ – 2013 – Pricing contact jill@jilljoy.com

I sometimes think what I do instinctively, without too much thought, is turns out to be my best work.

On a related note, I had a discussion not too long ago with an art gallery owner about the significance of leaving blank canvas in my work.

I find myself doing this, again, instinctively. But upon reflection I realized the significance of the symbolism of blank canvas for me. It is my sense that we are each an energetic, emotional, mental experience happening on a broader blank screen, or for me blank canvas. Some sort of emptiness or open space which we touch upon occasionally and which usually, when we do, brings a sense of peace or connectedness. Stillness. I’m spiritual by nature so for me this open space represents some kind of universal consciousness, but I don’t feel the need to define it too specifically.

Leave a Reply

