Forgiveness – Art & Poetry

Jill Joy - Forgiveness - oil on canvas - 60x72 -2013

Jill Joy – Forgiveness – oil on canvas – 60×72″ – 2013 – Price on Request

It’s time
I think
I feel
to stop hating on my father
to forgive
the ways
he could not love me

It’s time
I think
I feel
to put this burden down
to accept
his limitations
renounce
any judgment
I have against myself
for the way
he treated me

It’s time
I think
I feel
to take back my power
my self esteem
to be whole
and not in need

© Jill Joy – Feb 2013

Jill Joy with Forgiveness - oil on canvas - 60x72 -2013

Jill Joy with Forgiveness – oil on canvas – 60×72″ -2013      Photo: Maggie Kam

6 thoughts on “Forgiveness – Art & Poetry

  1. Jill, I love the scale of your painting and boldness of colour and motion. Hunter likes your poem. I’m glad the time has come to deal with your father. Fortunately I don’t feel I have to deal with mine.

    Like

    • Thanks J- I’m curious about Hunter’s impression since he is a psychiatrist. I never thought things would come around with my dad but they have. It was disorienting almost when he started to reach out in a real way.

      Thanks for the comment on the painting. This was a multiple layered piece I started in Oct and finished in Jan/Feb. It had a previous life as a painting called Wall. Then it eventually morphed into Forgiveness. Nice! 🙂

      Like

  2. I was deeply moved by your forgiveness posting about your father, Jill. I too have a father that didn’t approve of me and love me, and it has bothered me all my life. I wished for my father’s love, but I never was able to get it. He was too hopeless a narcissist to be able to love anyone, including his wife and children.

    I wish the best for you, Jill, wherever you are and whatever you’re doing. You are my inspiration in my search for emotional fulfillment.

    Like

    • Thanks for letting me know. It always feels like a risk to post poetry that is so personal and so intimate. It helps to know I am voicing shared experience. That’s what it is all about.

      Like

Leave a Reply

