In the Distance #art

Jill Joy - In the Distance - oil on canvas - 24x48 -2013

Jill Joy – In the Distance – oil on canvas – 24×48 -2013 – Available

This painting is from my current series, Consciousness. The paintings in this series are atmospheric and slightly surreal. Basically they are me projecting my spiritual and emotional life on the outer world and landscape.

This painting in particular is a meditation on my current relationship. I painted it a couple of months ago not long after I’d re-entered a more or less “non traditional”, “non exclusive” relationship with my muse who I’ve been dating on and off for over 7 years now. I felt uncomfortable with this arrangement at first, even though I suggested it. We seemed to be unable to do without each other and yet both had many demands upon us that inhibited us from fulfilling all of the traditional obligations that go with a “relationship”.

In the distance signified my feeling that somewhere off in the distance we would find peace or reconciliation. In the ensuing months, I sort of feel I have. The structure of the relationship hasn’t changed but my perspective on it had deepened. I’ve come to realize that spiritually, I am getting exactly what I need. I am able to love and be loved without any sense of obligation. I expect he may feel the same.

4 thoughts on “In the Distance #art

Leave a Reply

